Home Sports news When Wasim Akram Hit Roshan Mahanama In The Box, Twice In Two...

When Wasim Akram Hit Roshan Mahanama In The Box, Twice In Two Balls. Watch | Cricket News

blank





Wasim Akram had bamboozled a number of batsmen all through his enjoying profession however what he inadvertently did to Roshan Mahanama on one fateful day on the WACA Stadium in Perth was painfully tragic. In a conflict between Pakistan and Sri Lanka in the course of the Benson and Hedges World Series 1989-90, two deliveries that moved again in to the right-handed Mahanama after pitching caught the batsman unawares as he was hit within the field on not one, however two consecutive deliveries. While such incidents have normally made onlookers see the humorous aspect to it, for the batsman who’s hit within the unmentionables it’s miles from humorous.

Akram posted a video of the 2 deliveries on Twitter and had a cheeky remark to go along with it. “And Roshan went on to be a grandfather….”

As is predicted of any batsman who will get hit, Mahanama took his time after enduring the primary blow by transferring in direction of sq. leg and squatting on the bottom. He had tried to shoulder arms to the supply after transferring throughout his stumps, however the ball got here again in to him leaving him defenceless.

Just when he thought he may shrug off the blow and focus on the subsequent ball, an identical supply that pitched wanting good size and nipped again much more sharply to hit Mahanama once more on the spot the place he had been hit only some moments in the past.

The second blow despatched Mahanama grimacing with ache as he lay on his fours even because the Pakistani fielders huddled across the Sri Lankan and supplied what appeared to be workouts to alleviate the ache.

Dean Jones, former Australia batsman, went one up on Akram with an excellent cheekier remark. “Well instead of using his bat… he preferred playing you with something else!” Jones tweeted.

While Twitterati loved the banter and gave their very own views on the incident, Mahanama, the previous ICC match referee, might have had differing views on this as he would possibly keep in mind that he needed to retire damage after the second blow.

Promoted

It was the primary over of the innings and Mahanama was but to open his account. Sri Lanka had been set 223 runs to win and when the Lankans misplaced their fifth wicket on 179, the opener walked out to renew his innings.

He completed unbeaten on 19 as Sri Lanka received by three wickets. Akram and Jones had the enjoyable on Twitter nevertheless it was Mahanama and Sri Lanka who had had the final giggle in Perth.

Topics talked about on this article



LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here