Home Educational news Odisha changes norms for merger of schools in KBK region

Odisha changes norms for merger of schools in KBK region

The Odisha authorities on Monday knowledgeable the Assembly that the first and higher major schools having lower than 15 college students, and never 20 as determined earlier, will likely be recognized for closure or merger in scheduled areas and in addition in the backward Kalahandi-Bolangir- Koraput (KBK) region.

Thus, the norms mounted for closure or merger of schools in scheduled areas can even be relevant for such institutes positioned in the KBK region, School and Mass Education Minister S R Dash mentioned.

The authorities had earlier determined to shut or merge schools having lower than 20 college students there and the notification issued in this regard will quickly be revised, he mentioned.

The opposition events have mentioned that the federal government has modified norms to shut down schools in scheduled and non- scheduled areas, however it has not taken the backward KBK region into consideration.

The minister mentioned that the state authorities has modified the norms for closing down schools in view of the considerations expressed by members of opposition events.

Both Leader of Opposition P Okay Naik of the BJP and Congress Legislature Party chief Narasingha Mishra, had raised the problem in the House.

The KBK region now has eight districts – Koraput, Malkangiri, Nabarangpur, Rayagada, Balangir, Subarnapur, Kalahandi and Nuapada.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here