Home Stories In Row Over Ex-BSP MLAs, Breather For Ashok Gehlot After High Court...

In Row Over Ex-BSP MLAs, Breather For Ashok Gehlot After High Court Move

In Row Over Ex-BSP MLAs, Breather For Ashok Gehlot After High Court Move

The Bahujan Samaj Party’s enchantment searching for a freeze on the merger of its six former legislators with the Ashok Gehlot-led Congress authorities was dismissed by the High Court at the moment, which left the choice to the only bench that’s listening to the case. The choice can have implications for the federal government, which is struggling to carry on to its majority in face of the revolt by Sachin Pilot and his 18 loyalist MLAs. Mr Gehlot insists that he has the assist of 102 MLAs, one above the bulk mark. If there’s a freeze on the merger, Mr Gehlot’s numbers will drop and he can have a harder battle on his palms.

Here are the highest 10 factors on this massive story:

  1. Without the previous BSP males, Ashok Gehlot’s numbers will drop from 102 to 96. The BJP has 72 MLAs. With the insurgent camp and three independents MLAs, the numbers of the opposite facet will contact 97. The midway mark within the meeting can even come right down to 97 from the present 101.
  2. The BSP and the BJP had gone to courtroom difficult the Speaker’s choice in September 2019 permitting the merger of the six BSP MLAs with the Congress.
  3. The events had demanded a keep on the participation of the six MLAs in the home proceedings — essential if the Ashok Gehlot authorities has to take a belief vote.
  4. A single-judge bench of the High Court, nevertheless, refused to cease the functioning of the BSP MLAs as Congress legislators at the same time as an interim measure.
  5. Yesterday, the courtroom issued discover to Speaker CP Joshi after BSP nationwide secretary Satish Mishra and BJP MLA Madan Dilawar appealed for an interim freeze.
  6. The six BSP MLAs– Sandeep Yadav, Wajib Ali, Deepchand Kheria, Lakhan Meena, Jogendra Awana and Rajendra Gudha– had defected to the Congress in September final yr, serving to the Congress, which received 101 seats, increase its tally.
  7. But following the revolt of Sachin Pilot and his loyalist MLAs, BSP chief Mayawati, who had been furious with the defection and was ready for an opportune second, stated she desires to “teach the Ashok Gehlot government a lesson”.
  8. “BSP could have gone to the court earlier too but we were looking for a time to teach the Congress party and Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot a lesson. Now we have decided to go to the Court. We will not let this matter alone. We will go even to the Supreme Court,” Mayawati had stated.
  9. The insurgent MLAs have additionally challenged the Speaker’s choice to disqualify them. They have contended that there is no such thing as a floor for disqualification in case of inner dissent, particularly when the meeting just isn’t in session.
  10. For now, the courtroom has ordered a establishment. A disqualification of the rebels, who’ve damaged ranks with the social gathering, will deliver down the numbers within the 200-member meeting and provides Mr Gehlot an even bigger margin.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here